Home / News > PDC World Matchplay 2018


World Matchplay 2018


PDC World Matchplay 2018

The PDC World Matchplay will again be held at the Winter Gardens, Blackpool. The World Matchplay is in its 25th year and this year’s event will be held from 21-29th July.  In honour of the 16-time World Matchplay Champion, Phil Taylor, the World Matchplay Trophy has been renamed ‘The Phil Taylor Trophy’.

Phil Taylor, the current World Matchplay Champion, retired from PDC competition circuit at the end of the 2018 World Darts Championships in January, so will not defend the title.



Michael van Gerwen 32 players have now qualified for this darts event, 16 by order of PDC Merit, and a further 16 via the ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers.

Michael van Gerwen is the top seeded player but besides Michael there is only one other player in the 2018 line-up that has won the title, James Wade.  James, is listed as the tenth seed and will be looking for a good performance to boost his ranking prior to World Championships at the end of this year. More details as regards the 2018 PDC World Championship Betting Odds.

Three other players that will also feature in this year’s line-up that have also featured the finals; Peter Wright, Raymond van Barneveld and Adrian Lewis. Of these Peter Wright, last years runner-up and number two seed is probably one of the few also tipped to do well in this year’s event.

A return to form for Adrian Lewis will make him a good wild card bet, however, Gary Anderson and the current PDC World Darts Champion Rob Cross are likely to feature in the later stages of the championship.


So, what of the new faces in this year’s tournament?

Max Hopp

Five players will also be making their debut at the World Matchplay

Jonny Clayton from Wales and Germany's Max Hopp secured their World Matchplay debuts following European Tour victories earlier this year, while Jeffrey de Zwaan won his maiden Players Championship title in April.

Steve Lennon from Ireland Jermaine Wattimena from the Netherlands complete the five new players in this year field of ProTour Order of Merit qualifiers.

Richard North claimed the last ProTour Order of Merit place.

2018 World Matchplay Seeds

2018 ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers

1 Michael van Gerwen Jonny Clayton
2 Peter Wright Joe Cullen
3 Rob Cross Stephen Bunting
4 Gary Anderson Max Hopp
5 Daryl Gurney Mervyn King
6 Mensur Suljovic Jermaine Wattimena
7 Simon Whitlock Steve West
8 Dave Chisnall Steve Beaton
9 Michael Smith Kyle Anderson
10 James Wade James Wilson
11 Ian White John Henderson
12 Gerwyn Price Keegan Brown
13 Raymond van Barneveld Jelle Klaasen
14 Darren Webster Steve Lennon
15 Kim Huybrechts Jeffrey De Zwaan
16 Adrian Lewis Richard North


Matchplay Draw

(Bracket No. Matchplay seed)

(1) Michael van Gerwen v Jeffrey de Zwaan
(16) Adrian Lewis v James Wilson
(8)Dave Chisnall v Keegan Brown
(9) Michael Smith v Jonny Clayton
(5) Daryl Gurney v Steve West
(12) Gerwyn Price v Joe Cullen
(4) Gary Anderson v Stephen Bunting
(13) Raymond van Barneveld v Kyle Anderson
(2) Peter Wright v Jelle Klaasen
(15) Kim Huybrechts v John Henderson
(7) Simon Whitlock v Richard North
(10) James Wade v Jermaine Wattimena
(6) Mensur Suljovic v Steve Beaton
(11) Ian White v Max Hopp
(3) Rob Cross v Mervyn King
(14) Darren Webster v Steve Lennon


This event will be shown live on Sky Sport in the UK and various other channels across the World. Fans from outside the UK and Ireland can also watch this event via PDCTV. See their website for further details

Phil Taylor 2017 World Matchplay Champion


PDC Darts World Matchplay Past Champions

Champion  Score Runner-Up 
TBC - - - TBC
Phil Taylor 18 - 8 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 18–10 Phil Taylor
Michael van Gerwen 18–12 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–9 Michael van Gerwen
Phil Taylor  18–13 Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor  18–15 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–8 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–12 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 18–4 Terry Jenkins
Phil Taylor 18–9 James Wade
James Wade 18–7 Terry Jenkins
Phil Taylor  18–11 James Wade
Colin Lloyd 18–12 John Part
Phil Taylor  18–8 Mark Dudbridge
Phil Taylor 18–12 Wayne Mardle
Phil Taylor  18–16 John Part
Phil Taylor 18–10 Richie Burnett
Phil Taylor  18–12 Alan Warriner 
Rod Harrington  19–17 Peter Manley
Rod Harrington 19–17 Ronnie Baxter
Phil Taylor 16–11 Alan Warriner
Peter Evison 16–14 Dennis Priestley
Phil Taylor  16–11 Dennis Priestley
Larry Butler 16–12 Dennis Priestley



Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers