Home / News > Players Championship Finals 2018

Players Championship Finals 2018


Players Champion Finals 2018

The conclusion of the Players Champions will be played out at the Butlin’s Minehead Resort 23-25th November. For the past three years, the event has been dominated by the young Dutchman Michael van Gerwen. Michael has won the event four times in total and this year he could make it four in a row.

In 2016, 2017 Michael dominated the darts scene winning most of the events he entered. The prestige Premier League he also won for the third time in a row. However, one that got away from him earlier this year was the World Series Las Vegas World Masters. The biggest PDC event held in the USA was won by the ‘Flying Scotsman’ Gary Anderson which has seen an influx on betting on darts in the USA where you will find a good bonus betting terms and information on betting on darts. Gary who averaged over 102 in the final dismissed Rib Cross, the current PDC World Champion 8-4 in the final.


Michael Van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen will again be favourite to retain his Player Championship title. The Dutchman has taken over where Phil ‘The Power’ Taylor left off. His hunger to win has never diminished has he ranks up his title haul.

Micheal, however, can be vulnerable and the early round sometimes can be his downfall. In the World Matchplay, an event the Dutchman has won twice before, he was defeated by fellow Dutchman Jeffrey de Zwann 10-6 in the first round. Unlike some of the other top professionals, Michael enters all the professional events and it could have been tiredness that got the better of him. However, take nothing away from Jeffrey, he played awesomely and hit the doubles he needed to take him through.


Rob Cross

Rob Cross PDC World Darts Champion 2018Rob Cross, the Current PDC World Darts Champions has failed to impress since he claimed the World title on the 1st January this year. The media interest and expectation of more to follow may have had an impact on his game as he hasn’t won a major ranking event since. He was successful in the World Series Brisbane Master where he defeated Michael van Gerwen in the final, but with a limited and selected player for this event, it is becoming hard to justify further success on his horizon.


Dimitri van den Bergh

One young player worth looking out for in this year's Players Championships is Dimitri van den Bergh. The 207 PDC Youth World Darts Champion is coming of age. His recent performance in the Grand Slam of Darts has certainly got him noticed. He dumped out the BDO World No1 Mark McGeeney ‘Gladiator’ with ease beating him 5-1 in the round robin stage of the event. Facing Stephen Bunting, the former BDO World Champion, in the next round, he hit a magical 9 dart finish and comprehensively beat Stephen 10-6 to secure his place in the quarter-final.

Dimitri will also be looking to defend his Youth Title against rising German star Martin Schindler. The PDC (Unicorn) World Youth Champions Final is played at the same venue during the Players Championship Finals on the 25th November. On his current form, Dimitri will be very hard to beat but the German may have something to say about that.

PDC World Youth Finals 2018


Other Player Championship major contenders

2018 has seen several players winning titles. The full dominance of just a couple hasn’t been the script this year making this event and the World Championships that follow very open

In August Gary Anderson won the Matchplay, an event all the players love to win, even if it only once. Considered the third biggest tournament of the year, the World Championships and Premier League taking the no.1 and no.2 sports respectively. The format can see many last leg deciders. Gary dominated the Matchplay and was a well-deserved winner.

James Wade is another that has shown recent form. Becoming a father for the first time seems to have focused his game. In October he ended his four-year wait for another PDC title winning the European title, defeating Simon Whitlock 11-8. The following week Wade won the World Series Finals in a dramatic last leg decider against Michael Smith, he then credited the win to his newly born son Arthur James Wade.

Peter Wright is always a crowd pleaser and his loyal fans will hope that their man can go one or two steps further. Peter is always in the mix and a major title may just be around the corner.

The Players Champion Finals is Live on ITV4 / ITV Sport and various stations around the World. If you live outside the UK and NI you can watch the event the PDC.TV live streaming service.


First Round Draw

Ian White v Scott Taylor Gary Anderson v Alan Tabern
Brendan Dolan v Michael Barnard Simon Whitlock v Kyle Anderson
Daryl Gurney v Robert Thornton Steve Beaton v Kim Huybrechts
Josh Payne v Ryan Searle John Henderson v Joe Cullen
James Wade v Ross Smith Michael Smith v Vincent van der Voort
Nathan Aspinall v Martin Schindler Jonny Clayton v Mark Webster
Dave Chisnall v Jamie Lewis Jeffrey de Zwaan v Jelle Klaasen
Chris Dobey v Ron Meulenkamp Ricky Evans v Jan Dekker
Adrian Lewis v Adam Hunt Rob Cross  v risto Reyes
Krzysztof Ratajski v Gerwyn Price Ryan Joyce v Steve Lennon
Danny Noppert v Rowby-John Rodriguez James Wilson  v Dimitri van den Bergh
Mervyn King v Simon Stevenson Gabriel Clemens v Andrew Gilding
Peter Wright v Toni Alcinas Michael van Gerwen  v Matthew Edgar
Max Hopp v Steve West Keegan Brown v Mensur Suljovic
Stephen Bunting v Richard North Jermaine Wattimena v Stephen Burton
Mickey Mansell v Madars Razma Darren Webster v Jeffrey de Graaf


PDC Previous Players Championship Winners







2018 TBC 0 - 0 TBC
2017 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 2 Jonny Clayton
2016 Michael van Gerwen  11 - 3 Dave Chisnall
2015 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 6 Adrian Lewis
2014 Gary Anderson 11 - 6 Adrian Lewis
2013 Michael van Gerwen 11 - 7 Phil Taylor
2012 Phil Taylor 13 - 6 Kim Huybrechts
2011 (Dec) Kevin Painter 13 - 9 Mark Webster
2011 Feb) Phil Taylor 13 - 12 Gary Anderson
2010 Paul Nicholson 13 - 11 Mervyn King
2009 Phil Taylor 16 - 9 Robert Thornton






Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers