Home / News > PDC European Darts Championship 2018

PDC European Championship Finals


PDC European Darts Championship 2018

The top 32 PDC European tour players will battle it out for the PDC European Darts title from 25th – 28th October the Westfalenhalle in Dortmund, Germany. The 32-player tournament sees players that have qualified through the European Tour Order of Merit, which includes prize money won in the 13 European Tour events throughout the year. This major dart event will be broadcast on various TV channels across the world and on ITV Sport / ITV4 in the UK

Max HoppWorld number one Michael van Gerwen is the outright leader of the field in the field of 32 and his recent Grand Slam of Darts win will again make him favourite for the European title. Michael is the four-time defending Champion, after beating Rob Cross 11-7 in the 2017 final. Other major contenders include the Danish Darts Open winner Mensur Suljovic.

Ian White and Peter Wright have also shown recent top form, however, the crowd will be hoping their local hero Max Hopp can cause an upset in Germany. Fans will find online fun at borgata to be a good source guide when considering their who best to support in this year's tournament.

Martin Schindler another of the German players is also likely to be in the mix, however, his year has not been as good as he would have liked and is recently listed as joint 30 along with, Jan Dekkar, Darius Labanauskas and Andy Bolton. However, to the delight of many German fans, Martin will be taking to the oche but is likely to face stiff opposition in his first-round match.

Germany has become one of the new hotbeds for darts and a quart of the PDC World Champions tickets are now should to German fans. The Strength of their support has been rewarded with both the European Championship Finals and a Premier League Event where more than 21,000 fans attended, the biggest for a single darts event


European Championships 2018 - Players

PDC European Order of Merit Player Qualifiers
1 Michael van Gerwen 9 Jonny Clayton 17 Mervyn King 25 William O'Connor
2 Mensur Suljović 10 Daryl Gurney 18 Danny Noppert 26 Kyle Anderson
3 Gerwyn Price 11 James Wade 19 Stephen Bunting 27 Steve Beaton
4 Ian White 12 Adrian Lewis 20 Steve Lennon 28 Cristo Reyes
5 dJoe Cullen 13 Rob Cross 21 James Wilson 29 Paul Nicholson
6 Simon Whitlock 14 Michael Smith 22 Jermaine Wattimena 30 Martin Schindler
7 Peter Wright 15 Steve West 23 Ricky Evans 31 Jan Dekker
8 Max Hopp 16 Darren Webster 24 Dave Chisnall 32 Jelle Klaasen


The format for the European Championships Finals and order of play

First Round - Best of 11 legs, Second Round - Best of 19 legs, Quarter-Finals - Best of 19 legs, Semi-Finals and Final - Best of 21 legs

Play begins on Thursday, October 25 (8 pm local time, 7 pm UK time)
First Round x8

Friday, October 26
Afternoon Session (1.45pm local time, 12.45pm UK time)
First Round x8
Evening Session (8 pm local time, 7 pm UK time)
Second Round x4

Saturday, October 28 (8 pm local time, 7 pm UK time)
Second Round x4

Sunday, October 29
Afternoon Session (1.45pm local time, 12.45pm UK time)
Evening Session (8 pm local time, 7 pm UK time)
Semi-Finals / Final

A total prize fund of £400,000, £100,000 going to the eventual winner and £40,000 to the runner-up







Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers