Home / News > PDC World Championship Title

Who are Michael Van Gerwen's Rivals for the PDC World Championship Title?

There are still plenty of darts to be thrown this year but as each tournament passes, the PDC World Championship gets ever closer. Michael Van Gerwen is the current odds-on favourite for the annual tournament held at Alexandra Palace but can anyone stop the dominance of the Dutchman at this event?


PDC World Darts Championships 2018


The world number one has been in unstoppable form this year and continues to go from strength to strength in 2017, although he decided to take the whole of August off. The 28-year-old opted to spend time with his family as opposed to attending a number of worldwide tournaments and claims he is fully refreshed and raring to return to action. His first tournament back is the Dutch Masters and he'll be determined to succeed in front of his home crowd.

MVG has won the PDC World Championship twice during his illustrious career including a 7-3 victory over Gary Anderson at the beginning of 2017 and will be aiming to make it back-to-back successes in North London when the tournament gets underway in December.

Anderson may have come up short on this occasion but the Scot took the title in both 2015 and 2016 and will be hoping to reclaim the prize this year. He is the second-favourite in the betting but has already suffered at the hands of Mighty Mike in the Masters, going down 11-7. The 2017 Dubai Darts Masters champion recently wrapped up his fifth World Series of Darts title, beating Raymond Van Barneveld in Perth and is aiming to build up some momentum ahead of the end of season showdown.

Anderson often peaks at this tournament and could be a real threat to Michael Van Gerwen once again.


Gary Anderson


Phil Taylor is set to retire at the end of this tournament and will be aiming to go out on a high. The Stoke native announced his plans following last year's event and showed he still has the class to compete at the highest level when clinching his 16th World Matchplay title in Blackpool at the end of July.

The Power's victory in the North West came against Peter Wright, with the two players likely to fight it out in the final stages of the PDC World Championships in December. Wright has never won this particular event but reached the final back in 2014 and is third in the betting, whilst Taylor's history here is significantly better with 14 victories to his name.

Taylor is likely to begin as the fourth-favourite for the title in his final outing on the PDC tour. Tournament outrights are just one of many betting angles available on the event as detailed in Betsafe's darts betting tips and many punters will also be looking to find value in the Most 180 and Handicap markets. These will become available once the first round has been drawn prior to the event.

Michael Van Gerwen will be aiming to maintain his crown and start 2018 with yet another title. Gary Anderson is always a danger at this tournament and the Dutchman will have to be wary of a determined Phil Taylor who could be a threat in his final ever appearance at Alexandra Palace.


PDC Darts World Champions Past Winners








2018 TBC       TBC
2017 Michael van Gerwen 7 - 3 Gary Anderson
2016 Gary Anderson 7 - 5 Adrian Lewis
2015 Gary Anderson 7 - 6 Phil Taylor
2014 Michael van Gerwen 7 - 5 Peter Wright
2013 Phil Taylor 7 - 4 Michael van Gerwen
2012 Adrian Lewis 7 - 3 Andy Hamilton
2011 Adrian Lewis 7 - 5 Gary Anderson
2010 Phil Taylor 7 - 3 Simon Whitlock
2009 Phil Taylor 7 - 1 Raymond van Barneveld
2008 John Part 7 - 2 Kirk Shepherd
2007 Raymond Van Barneveld 7 - 6 Phil Taylor
2006 Phil Taylor 7 - 0 Peter Manley
2005 Phil Taylor 7 - 4 Mark Dudbridge
2004 Phil Taylor 7 - 6 Kevin Painter
2003 John Part 7 - 6 Phil Taylor
2002 Phil Taylor 7 - 0 Peter Manley
2001 Phil Taylor 7 - 0 John Part
2000 Phil Taylor 7 - 3 Dennis Priestley
1999 Phil Taylor 6 - 2 Peter Manley
1998 Phil Taylor 6 - 0 Dennis Priestley
1997 Phil Taylor 6 - 3 Dennis Priestley
1996 Phil Taylor 6 - 4 Dennis Priestley
1995 Phil Taylor 6 - 2 Rod Harrington
1994 Dennis Priestley 6 - 1 Phil Taylor



Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers