Home / News > Phil Taylor Matchplay Farewell

Phil Taylor say farewell to the World Matchplay Blackpool


Taylor Set for World Matchplay Farewell in Blackpool

Sixteen-time world champion Phil Taylor is taking part in his final World Matchplay Championship this year where he is bidding for his 16th success in the tournament in Blackpool in what would be a dream way to bow out for the Power.

Taylor won the premier event in 1995 when he beat Dennis Priestley in the final 16-11. The man from Stoke then went on to dominant the tournament as he was successful in six of the following next nine World Matchplay events.

The former world number one last won the World Matchplay in 2014 when he defeated the top seed Michael van Gerwen in the final 18-9. Taylor averaged 107.19 in that game, which came after he had beaten Gary Anderson, Wes Newton and Michael Smith to reach the final again.


Phil Taylor World Matchplay Champion 2014


Taylor is just three wins away from winning this year’s title in Blackpool, where he has darts odds of 12/1 to be successful. He must, however, beat van Gerwen in their quarter-final clash as both men are set to meet in the last eight of the competition. If successful, Taylor would be on course to meet Peter Wright in the final and the Scotsman is the highest seed left in the bottom half of the draw.

The multiple world champion was given the number eight seed this year, the highest he has even been in this event. Taylor opened up against Wales’ Gerwyn Price in the first round, where he came through with a 10-5 win. Old rival Raymond van Barneveld was his opponent in the second round in what was the final tie between the two foes in this tournament and it may have been the last time the pair meet in professional darts. The Power was right at his best, with an average of 102.27, in a one-sided 11-3 victory.


Mighty Mike - Michael van Gerwyn


Despite van Gerwen’s dominance over the last three years, Taylor still has a winning head-to-head record against the Dutchman, with 35 wins over the man from the Netherlands, while Mighty Mike has beaten the darts legend 25 times. Taylor last beat van Gerwen in the Premier League back in May with a 7-3 scoreline. He also won their meeting in the Sydney Masters final last year 11-9 in a close contest in Australia.

The Power will bow out from darts at the 2018 World Championship, which begins in December from the Alexandra Palace. His last success in the biggest tournament in darts was in 2013 where he defeated van Gerwen 7-3 in the final. In his last season in the sport, Taylor reached finals night in the Premier League but was eliminated in the semi-final at the O2 Arena in London as he lost 10-9 to Wright. The Power had a double to win the match but missed out to Snakebite in the last four.

Given he is approaching his 57th birthday next month, a victory in the World Matchplay tournament in Blackpool this week would probably rank up there as Taylor’s biggest win of his career and it would be the perfect way for him to say goodbye to this premier event.


PDC Darts World Matchplay Past Champions

Champion  Score Runner-Up 
TBC - - - TBC
Michael van Gerwen 18–10 Phil Taylor
Michael van Gerwen 18–12 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–9 Michael van Gerwen
Phil Taylor  18–13 Adrian Lewis
Phil Taylor  18–15 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–8 James Wade
Phil Taylor  18–12 Raymond van Barneveld
Phil Taylor 18–4 Terry Jenkins
Phil Taylor 18–9 James Wade
James Wade 18–7 Terry Jenkins
Phil Taylor  18–11 James Wade
Colin Lloyd 18–12 John Part
Phil Taylor  18–8 Mark Dudbridge
Phil Taylor 18–12 Wayne Mardle
Phil Taylor  18–16 John Part
Phil Taylor 18–10 Richie Burnett
Phil Taylor  18–12 Alan Warriner 
Rod Harrington  19–17 Peter Manley
Rod Harrington 19–17 Ronnie Baxter
Phil Taylor 16–11 Alan Warriner
Peter Evison 16–14 Dennis Priestley
Phil Taylor  16–11 Dennis Priestley
Larry Butler 16–12 Dennis Priestley




Pure Darts - Darts Suppliers