Home / News > What to Expect from the 2024 World Cup of Darts


What to Expect from the 2024  World Cup of Darts


What to Expect from the 2024 World Cup of Darts

The PDC World Cup of Darts will see 40 nations competing for the World Cup trophy and the glory of being World Cup Champions for a year. The top four seeded nations, England, Wales, Netherlands, and Scotland, automatically escape the round-robin first-round stage and enter the straight knockout stages in round two.

Each nation features its top two players. Usually, the selection is made by the PDC Order of Merit. England is seed No.1, and the two representing England are the Current World Champion, Luke Humphries, and the former World Champion, Michael Smith. Many may have thought that Luke Little would gain a place due to his recent form. However, Littler is ranked at No. 25 by the Order of Merit, while Smith is ranked No.3

Current World Cup Champions Wales will now feature Jonny Clayton, who is a two-time winner of the event, and Jim Williams, who will be making his first appearance in the World Cup. William replaces  Gerwyn Price due to illness. This means Wales may not be the biggest threat to the other nations as it may have been.

Michael Van Gerwen is joined by Danny Noppert,. The two top players represent the Netherlands and could be a big threat to the others over this short, fast format. However, Michael has recently shown he is a bit tired, and as one PDC commentator put it, it doesn’t look like he wishes to be on the oche, which may sway some punters when they place their bet.

Seed four are Scotland. Peter Wright and Gary Anderson join forces again and would like to replicate their previous winning performance. Some may say both are struggling a bit, but Anderson may have turned the tide as he is now defending his ranking in the PDC with some good arrows.

However, an outsider may lift the trophy this year as the remaining 36 nations are divided into twelve round-robin groups of three. Each Group contained a seed nation from 5-16. The winner of each Group progressed to the straight knockout phase, where they were joined by the seeded nations England, Wales, Netherlands, and Scotland.

Asian countries have shown much over the years and could be featured in the knockout stages. However, winning the title might be a tall order at this stage. For the many fans who will be present, the downtime is usually taken up playing casino games via their mobile phones at the online casino asia or placing bets on the outcome of the sports tournaments via the site.


The First Round Group Stage Draw

The round-robin stage of the World Cup will also see some notable clashes, and the eyes may be focused on Group L, the USA, Portugal, and Italy Clash. In addition, Group C, Germany, New Zealand and Finland may be hard to call, but many will expect Germany to be a prominent feature in this year's tournament.

The oldest play must be Paul Lim. Famous for the only nine Dart leg in the former BDO World Championships and prolific soft-tip player, Paul is undoubtedly a fan favourite. Paul, at the tender age of 70, will be representing Singapour



Group A

Group B
(6) Northern Ireland
South Africa

Group C
(7) Germany
New Zealand

Group D
(8) Australia
Hong Kong

Group E
(9) Republic of Ireland
Chinese Taipei

Group F
(10) Austria

Group G
(11) Poland

Group H
(12) Czechia

Group I
(13) Croatia

Group J
(14) France

Group K
(15) Sweden

Group L
(16) USA


Automatically through to the second round  (1) England, (2) Wales, (3) Netherlands, (4) Scotland


Playing Format

Group Stage - Best of seven legs
Second Round - Best of 15 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 15 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 15 legs
Final - Best of 19 legs


All games will be played in a Doubles format.

Competing Nations & Players

Australia - Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock
Austria - Rowby-John Rodriguez, Mensur Suljovic
Bahrain - Basem Mahmood, Duda Durra
Belgium - Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts
Canada - Matt Campbell, David Cameron
China - Xiaochen Zong, Chengan Liu
Croatia - Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grbavac
Czechia - Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek
Denmark - Benjamin Reus, Claus Bendix Nielsen
England - Luke Humphries, Michael Smith
Finland - Teemu Harju, Marko Kantele
France - Thibault Tricole, Jacques Labre
Germany - Martin Schindler, Gabriel Clemens
Gibraltar - Justin Hewitt, Craig Galliano
Guyana - Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald
Hong Kong - Lok Yin Lee, Man Lok Leung
Hungary - Gabor Jagicza, Nandor Major
Iceland - Arngrimur Olafsson, Petur Rudrik Gudmundsson
Ireland - William O'Connor, Keane Barry
Italy - Michele Turetta, Massimo Dalla Rosa
Japan - Tomoya Goto, Ryusei Azemoto
Latvia - Madars Razma, Valters Melderis
Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas
Malaysia - Siik Hwang Wong, Mohd Nasir Bin Jantan
Netherlands - Michael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert
New Zealand - Haupai Puha, Ben Robb
Northern Ireland - Josh Rock, Brendan Dolan
Norway - Cor Dekker, Håkon Bjørge Helling
Philippines - Christian Perez, Alexis Toylo
Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski, Radek Szaganski
Portugal - Jose de Sousa, David Gomes
Scotland - Peter Wright, Gary Anderson
Singapore - Paul Lim, Harith Lim
South Africa - Johan Geldenhuys, Cameron Carolissen
Spain - Jose Justicia, Jesus Noguera
Sweden - Jeffrey de Graaf, Oskar Lukasiak
Switzerland - Stefan Bellmont, Bruno Stöckli
Chinese Taipei - Teng-Lieh Pupo, An-Sheng Lu
USA - Danny Lauby, Jules van Dongen
Wales - Jonny Clayton, Jim Williams


Prize Fund (Per Team)

Winners - £80,000
Runners-Up - £50,000
Semi-Final Losers - £30,000
Quarter-Final Losers - £20,000
Last 16 Losers - £9,000
Second in Group - £5,000
Third in Group - £4,000
Total - £450,000






Darts Corner - Darts Suppliers